Heron Island on Great Barrier Reef, Australia – The World’s New Wonder

I am lucky enough to be invited to the summer school (about Agents-based modelling) here at Heron Island, Queensland. The course is organized by University of Sydney and my supervisor insisted asking me to come because he’s one of the organizer. It’s also to equip myself with some extra-knowledge prior enrolling the program.

I don’t want to discuss further about the course as I have enough of it already (:|). Other participants are either in the middle of their PhD journeys or faculties from Australian universities. Speakers are big names with high profile from Australia, US and Canada. Therefore, I feel a bit overwhelmed before and during the course. But when it comes to have fun at the beach, all become equal.

I had a very good time. I have opportunities to do things that I’ve never done in my life, including watching turtles lading their eggs, snorkelling in the middle of ocean with 9-meter-depth. Watching the sunset is another great experience because I feel so calm and relax.

From what people told me, Heron Island is like a paradise as the nature wildlife is the priority and it is remained even though they still have the resort here. Button birds are everywhere, and they even shitted on my head twice L. The sea color is amazing as it’s so green and I never see that kind of color before.

Many things have happened before the trip, and it totally took away my holiday mood just a week before going to Heron Island. However, I will never lose my optimistic personality, and with the great supports from my supervisor and his wife, plus my brothers and sisters (aka his previous PhD students) in the ‘adopted family’, things will be sorted out eventually.

Let’s see what I’ve got here!

– Get on to the ferry to get to the island, not the 3rd one

– Or you can fly with helicopter

– Where I stayed

– The beach & the resort

– Enjoying sunset

– Watching turtles nesting & laying the eggs

– Watching baby turtles hatching. It’s sad to know that only one per every 100 baby turtles survive after hatching. Either they are eaten by the birds, sharks or die while they’re still inside the eggs

Leave a Reply

