I am back to where I am and I will catch up with this blog

I don’t know if anyone cares, but if you do, you may know that I’m back to Sydney after 6 weeks of traveling to Turkey, Vietnam, and UK (these places are quite random!). My study is very busy, so to be able to organise and pack everything into that tight schedule of 6 weeks for 3 distant locations, I have to deal with a lot of stress. But I’m glad I did it. And my trip is A.W.E.S.O.M.E.

I am at the stage where I literally just came back to Sydney. I’m catching up with my research and it’s been OK so far. I still have jet lag where I couldn’t sleep until 4am and then rushing to get out of my house at 8am because I fell asleep at around 6 or 7am. When I have a bit of free time (or when I’m procrastinating), I check different air-fares to go to other places (crazy, right?). This time I’m thinking of Africa, Latin America, or a round-the-world trip. I do all that without knowing when is my next holidays (or maybe there’s no more holidays for me!).

I am at the stage where I can remember literally all the details, actions, views, etc. that I did at places where I’ve been in Istanbul and other Turkish cities, Da Nang & Hue in Vietnam, and Bournemouth, Oxford, and London in UK. I know I will forget some later on, but there are certain things and places that will always stay fresh. I already feel like missing those places so badly!

At an addicted-to-travel-and-shopping traveler, I like to plan ahead (3 months, 6 months, 12 months) and I also have to think of my long-term goals (2 years, 5 years) to fit my work and study schedules for my travel habit. Lots of thoughts, lots of negotiation, lots of thinking and I don’t know what would be the best scenario for post-PhD. I wish I don’t have to think about the plan of post-PhD but some people-who-care have asked and that make it difficult because I don’t know what is the best way to response (without telling them what they want to hear).

Anyway, this next coming few months will be less hectic as I decide not to tutoring to focus on my PhD. I hope to be more productive and hopefully can get some publication plan done. Last semester, 6 of my tutorials have great teaching evaluation scores, and I can be qualified for Dean’s Citation for Tutoring (Yay!). I also enjoyed my lecturing job at Hue University – College of Economics last June/July, and received great informal feedback from the teaching team and students (Yay!). So, to complete the package I really have to have some publications to boost up my CV 🙂

Hopefully, with PhD is the only focus for the next few months, hope that I can have some time to write more on this blog, it’s been forgotten for too long!!! I like my photos taken in Turkey and UK, haha!

Leave a Reply

